What's new
What's new

Monarch Lathe Restoration Attempt (Fixing Someone Else's Botched Rebuild)

Jadams7

Plastic
Hello all,

I'm a young machinist starting his own job shop and have purchased some equipment. One piece being my beloved 1946 12 CKK Monarch Lathe. I have been researching this lathe and have learned it quite well. Been through the headstock and i'm in the process of rebuilding the apron. I plan to do a full restoration as it truly deserves.

While waiting on parts from Monarch I decided to disassemble the lathe so I could inspect the bed and saddle for wear. The bed isn't in the best shape but I feel that it is manageable. My real problem is that a previous owner has milled the under side of the saddle, the cross slide dovetail, the cross slide itself, and the compound. They left the milled finish and cut in very crude oil grooves. I'm in the process of learning scraping and acquiring the tooling necessary for the rebuild. I understand that I need to evaluate the lathe and correct the geometry problems. What I cant seem to wrap my head around is how much turcite i'm supppose to apply without knowing how much material was removed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am eager to learn and I am without a mentor.

Apologies for the long winded opener. I feel that it is better to get the big picture out first so as to not spread it across the entire thread.

Thanks,

Jesse

Buy a pack of Plastic shim stock or use gage blocks or if you have some Turcite handy. Assemble the carriage with the feed shafts and rack pinion installed. Then block up carriage with wood blocks so it's level. Then set the saddle down on it and tighten the carriage to the apron. In the mean time slide in .030" under the saddle shim until the 6 saddle way ends and check the rack pinion in rack engagement. Add more or remove shims until it feels have a good idea. bedtime....Ill add more tomorrow