What's new
What's new

Passing worn machine for good working

Shawn_Laughlin

Aluminum
I’ve searched and couldn’t really find anything for my specific questions/worries.

I’m looking for a mill for my garage and looking on eBay some of them that are quite old still have scrape marks and look good but anyone can throw some scrape marks on them and spruce it up to make it look good but cut worse than my Chinese mill. I’m new to this and I know the obvious signs but what are people doing to to work/worn out machines to pass them off as good?

I’ve searched and couldn’t really find anything for my specific questions/worries.

I’m looking for a mill for my garage and looking on eBay some of them that are quite old still have scrape marks and look good but anyone can throw some scrape marks on them and spruce it up to make it look good but cut worse than my Chinese mill. I’m new to this and I know the obvious signs but what are people doing to to work/worn out machines to pass them off as good?

i would look for damaged shear pins, bent keys and keyways, and collision or crash marks. also lack of lubrication damage is hard to see.
wear on the ways is minor compared to collision or crash damage, overloads and lack of lubrication. some plastic lube lines get cracked and leak and oil never reaches spots. that damage can be hard to see. lead screw and nut damage also hard to see it. or bearing damage often hard to detect it

I’m new to this and I know the obvious signs but what are people doing to to work/worn out machines to pass them off as good?

A coat of paint and polishing all the brite bits does wonders, ohh shiney, it must be good:rolleyes5:. I look for the rusty machines, just enough rust to scare off most buyers, but not so bad it can't be cleaned, then deal with whatever other problems I find.