Peening the Underside of a Milling Machine Table. - Page 4
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I asked the professor the same thing and he said people should use long T-nuts. I have seen longer aprox 3" T-nuts. I was taught when I was an Apprentice to move the vise to the sides and not always mount it in the middle, make sense. I was just reading in the net about torque and found a reference on CNC forum and one guy wrote 110ft pounds. I suppose you need to stone the table top to remove the burrs on the table and raised spots above the T-Slots. I was thinking I'll call Kurt tomorrow and ask them if they have a spec sheet and cut and paste it here.

2. Likes Homebrewblob liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

What one would like to avoid is spreading metal (in essence peening) the underside of the tee slots by not applying metal-displacing point loads to the tee slots. Longer nut might help a little but still have two problems: they are case hardened and therefore can apply high point loads to whatever happens to be the high points under the footprint especially with the inevitable swarf, grit, and grime inherent in the milling process. The second problem is that although they may be long they are made of flexible metal and will still apply the great majority of their load in the area nearest the nut hole with little actual load applied at their end areas. So you will not be much ahead to use long nuts. Incidentally, I met Archie Cheda at his home and shop in San Luis Obispo something like 8 years ago. He is a very personable and bright fellow who “drug me” out to his shop for a lively discussion of his past, current, and future projects. It was a great and informative visit. For the record, he was not a professor at Cal Poly in SLO, but was a very capable lab/shop assistant if my memory serves. I do hope I am not doing a disservice to Archie.