What's new
What's new

Plain Bearing not taking Oil - Positive Pressure?

Fal Grunt

Titanium
I have been researching this topic without much luck. Probably due to not knowing the correct terminology to search for.

I have noticed over the years several machines that seem to have oiling issues where the machine does not want to take oil. Most recently I rebuilt the spindle on my Abrasive surface grinder and noticed that it does not want to take oil.

When the grinder is cold, looking at the spindle and cartridge face, without the hub, you can see the plain bearing and the spindle shaft. Around the shaft there is a bead of oil. As the spindle cartridge heats up, this bead of oil begins to disappear. As the spindle is running, when cold, the oiler will drip. As the spindle heats up, the oiler will stop dripping.

Noticing this, I started playing around and experimenting. I found that once the spindle is heated up, around 90 degree's or above, the oiler will no longer drip oil. Even more startling, if I remove the oiler, and fill the passageway with oil, it does not consume any of the oil. If I turn the spindle off, as the spindle stops, the oil level will fall, draining the passage.

Any thoughts on what is the cause of this? Any thoughts on how to remedy this issue?