What's new
What's new

Question What happens if you grind both the bed and carriage of a lathe and no more

I don't mean any disrespect, I realize the OP is from Holland so maybe it's a translation thing, but I really don't understand the question. If you grind both the bed and carriage, no more what????

What will be the result?

Well, for starters, unless it's a box way machine it's gonna be tough to grind it such that you have even bearing on all surfaces. Even then, the gib will need to be fitted, tough to do with grinding, but possible I guess.

I think most important will be the lube system. Pressure fed lube, hydrostatic???The surfaces will have 100% contact so they will want to wring out the oil film and stick together. Your lube system will need to be designed to overcome that.

I know some machine makers have tried this sort of arrangement, I'm no expert on the results or exactly what you need to make it work.

The Chinese do it all the time It may not be ideal but? If you are` after ultimate it is probably not best to start with reworking worn machine . If not go for it and find out report and back

Not enough information Peter. Is it a new lathe or a recondition job ?

Just stating the obvious but having two highly polished surfaces running together isn't a great idea unless your lube system is 100% efficient.

If it's a rebuilt lathe you'll have to correct the misalignment of the apron gearbox and the feed box - tail bracket, plus the feed rack will need re-aligning.

Regards Tyrone.

How about a fractal oil delivery groove network such that no point on the sliding survace is more than .1" from an oil groove.

Even better would be to make a network like how blood vessels are, pumping way oil through gives an exit for the contaminates.

I mentioned it to someone who has a rebuild 135 ( by ruemema) and to my zurpri e he told me the carriage of a 135 was not scraped at all but it was ground with a certainfinish
How about that Can I believe him you think