What's new
What's new

Rescraping Aciera F3 milling machine

feynman

Plastic
Hi,
i am an engineering student from germany and i would like to get your opinion about my scraping project. I am fairly new to the topic of scraping but i read and watched alot about it. Last year i managed to scrape my lathe slides with (in my opinion) good results. Now i am planning to rescrape my newly aquired milling machine: an Aciera F3 from 1964. A fairly small machine
(X 300mm/12inch; Y 135mm/5 inch; Z 250mm/10 inch).
IMG_20190826_185821.jpgIMG_20190826_185733.jpgIMG_20190826_185622.jpg

I am confident about getting a dovetail way straight and fitting the gib correctly but i wonder how to align everything to be perpendicular in the end (with few tools and without tipping the machine over).
I only have a surface plate, straight edge and a master square which i am currently scraping in.
My plan is the following:
1. Scraping the Z-Axis straight. As i can´t tip the machine i have to scrape it in place. Therfore i don´t want to have to align it to anything to make the job as easy as possible.
my biggest concern is twist between the two flats and how to measure it. My rather crude idea was to make an indicator base that registers in the dovetail and rides along the axis while pressing it onto the way.
2019-08-26 20_25_07-Präsentation1 - PowerPoint.jpg
This is far from ideal but i don´t see any other way. Maybe you have a better idea.
2. Scraping the matching Z- Slide which also connects to the X-Axis. This should be fairly simple. perpendicularity between x and z lies in this part. Should be easily measured with the master square on the surface plate.
3. scraping the X-Axis. Should also be easy as i can measure on the surface plate.
4. Now assamble z and x again and scrape/adjust the mounting flange of the table to be parallel to X and perpendicular to Z, by placing the Square on the table and traversing Z with an indicator running on the square.