What's new
What's new

scraping height gauge

scrap maker

Plastic
could anyone help me with scraping in a height gauge, does any one know where it should hinge because there is two flats and how much percent contact should I have sorry I am new to this

Any pictures?

I've never done one, but I would think you would want the outside edges a touch higher than the middle so it doesn't rock or let debris under the edge (think like a cup). Contact area kinda depends on how accurate it is/should-be and how much you intend to use it.

well i could make it cup shaped but i think that just making it flat would work making it cup shape defeats what i am trying to i want to make it flat for practice.

Log in | The Hobby-Machinist click on t and it should show a picture sorry I don’t know how else to attach the picture.

It is an interesting shape :). Technically the hinge should be about 30% in from each end. The issue is that you have two rails touching as opposed to a continuous surface, which might change the hinge point. Considering all of that you still want to make sure that the hinge is neither on the corners nor in the center, and the thing does not rock. You should shoot for at least 50% coverage and at least 20 PPI.

dee
;-D

....i want to make it flat for practice.

Good to do such practice. Not helpful to do it on a SG or other measuring or reference device as first project.. or "attempt".

Better to learn how to create a specific outcome on a plain CI plate.

Once comfortable that you can generate the desired result, THEN apply what you have learned to a level, SE, SG. Or machine-tool.

2CW

This is my first time scraping and I just watched videos and read about it and that is all I know I plan on going to a Richard king class too.

This is my first time scraping and I just watched videos and read about it and that is all I know I plan on going to a Richard king class too.