What's new
What's new

Scraping a lathe to the limits of mensuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhb

Aluminum
I'm a retired research scientist. But long before I became a scientist I was hopelessly perverted by C.L. Stong's volume of "Amateur Scientist" columns from "Scientific American".

In the late 40's John Strong, a premier experimental physicist, constructed a new ruling engine at Johns Hopkins. IIRC this was the first successful build since the 3 engines Rowland built 50 years earlier. A.A. Michelson failed in his attempt which says a lot about how hard a job it is. Though in fairness to Michelson, he had *very* ambitious goals.

The person selected to machine the pair of screws which positioned the carriage and stylus was David Broadhead, an amateur. After eliminating all spindle errors, Broadhead rescraped his 13" Southbend so that the ways were flat and parallel to less than a tenth over the entire length.

I have a 10x20 Clausing 4902 and a 6x24 8520, both of which are large enough for anything I expect to do. I bought the 8520 in "as new" condition with the original inspection sheet which it still met 30 years later. The 4902 has seen quite a bit more use, but is still in good shape. But it does need TLC.

I want to "recondition" these machines to the limits of my ability to measure the errors. I bought and read Connelly cover to cover 20 years ago, I read "Foundations of Mechanical Accuracy" by Wayne Moore long ago, but only got a personal copy a few weeks ago. Any book I come across that discusses high precision and accuracy machines I buy. Suggestions welcome.