What's new
What's new

Scraping newbie help

Itstallion

Plastic
So this is my first attempt at scraping. I'm working on the gib to my new to me drill/mill. So far I've been in the initial stage of getting the hump out of the middle of it. I'm seeing spots from one end to almost the other end. I'm wondering if I should switch gears and start going after specific regions or continue roughing until I see spotting from one end to the other. I've hinged it and its rotating at it's1/3 on both ends now. When I started it was hinging right in the middle. I've circled the highest spots that are polishing. Any words of wisdom or recommendations. I'm just hesitant to switch gears and not have that other end come in at all.

Thanks
Mark
6e4d2c30b14b12aca3c340aaf2447da6.jpg

Edited by moderator....

965617a332823b96bd28e1454223396e.jpg

at this point it is totaly sensless to shine up the highest points.
You need to rough scrap until you hav a minimum of 5 ppi all over your part.
To get this you need a shorter Stroke and a sharper Blade with Radius 60 or 90.
Also be look for "Individual Lines"

greatings, Franz
from the Lüftinger Brothers

You can use a sharpie to draw a line around a region of blue spots and then scrape off that whole region. That will start getting you to some initial marking in the low areas.

Well after some more passes here's where it's at. That end I was worried about still wouldn't come in so I threw a feeler guage under that end with it on the surface plate..... .0025. Yeah that end will just have to go like it is. It tapers off right at the adjusting screw hole. It shouldn't hurt anything considering the way it came from the factory. I shortened my stroke up and that seems to break it up finer. I still need to procure a way to sharpen my blade as I'm using the factory job on it at the moment. The next purchase.

Thanks for the replies
Mark
103dc1dfefb2ca9ce08fb9540de54331.jpg
e36d4a145df3c6947a05d7916c875aab.jpg
6a3c585dd262a09d844edf8e7b611e40.jpg