What's new
What's new

Scraping Non-Sliding Machine Connection Points?

bmarsh

Plastic
What is the conventional wisdom regarding scraping/flattening non sliding machine connections? Example the bottom of my lathe bed where the bed is bolted to the support leg castings? Both surfaces are in good OEM shape but I do notice some high spot lines when hitting them with stones(you can see the high points of the original grinding/planning passes. My curiosity is in particular the low spots around the actual bolt holes where the connection point is. Part of me says maybe I should try to increase the contact surface and reduce any stress induced during bolt torqueing. The other part of me says I'm being paranoid and over analyzing things (Thanks Robin Renzetti!)Thoughts?

I'm no pro but I would set up the bearing so that there was NO rocking and the bearing area's were next to bolts in supported places like underor next to a wall or gusset ect

Depends on the machine design.

If the lathe is old and was made with legs at each end of the bed like a saw horse, attachment fastener torque will have little effect on the bed's linearity or alignment so long as the gap to be closed is not eccessive..