What's new
What's new

Start Stop Push Button Control Switch Wiring - Please Help.

cg25713

Plastic
Hello All: I'm reconditioning a 14" South Bend drill press and I could really use some help with the re-wiring. Instead of a toggle switch it came with a Square D Company "Start" "Stop" push button controller. I'm somewhat new to this stuff so please excuse my ignorance.

There are four connections on the back of the switch and I have new positive, negative and ground wires running from the motor and new power cord. The ground wires I connected to the main casting. How are the positive and negative wires connected to this simple start stop switch. I tried variations but can't get it right.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance.

Steve
cg25713

Do the wires go direct from switch to motor or is there a motor starter/contactor between the motor and the buttons. Pics will help a lot.
Is it 120v or 240v?
Where did the power cord go to?

A little impatient, are we?

Is your lathe motor 120VAC, 240VAC, or....?

Pics of the front and rear of the switch would be helpful.

I deeply apologize for my impatience. See pics below. I have +/- wires from the motor and +/- wires from the power cord. Front and back of switch is shown. How do I connect the wires? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you all.

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 58
OK, as you mentioned, you are obviously not very knowledgeable when it comes to electricity.

That looks like an AC motor, as dalmationgirl said, and so it doesn't have a plus or a minus.

It looks as if it is a 120VAC motor, so it will have a Hot and a Neutral wire, as does the cord that plugs into the wall.

Are you sure the cable with the White, Black, and Green is coming from the motor, and the one with what looks like Red, 2 Black, White, and Green is coming from the power cord?