What's new
What's new

Surface grider, Angular contact bearings

jmanatee

Aluminum
Let me start by saying I am new to surface grinding.

I just bought a Parker Majestic No.2 grinder off Craigslist. I finally got it powered up and there was a little noise "Whrr" from the bearings, not bad but not silent. zero movement in the shaft, and it grinds nice.

The seller told me he had just cleaned and grease the bearings so to confirm I pulled apart the spindle.

When I pulled apart the spindle the bearings were nicely greased, it has four Barden 107H angular contact bearings, but I kept thinking they look like they were install backwards

Main question, How can you tell what is the "front" of an angular contact bearing or the correct orientation of the bearing to apply force? Is there a marking? Does the stamping identifying it
"Made in USA barden 107H" mean that is the larger end of the taper on the outer race? That is what it looks like but I am not sure.

I drew up two images showing the Parker spindle, this one is how I believe they should go.
correct.jpg

This one is how I think it was.
notcorrect.jpg

Any help would be appreciated.

Jon

Do you have a maintenance manual? That would help a lot. Can you contact the seller and see if he had a book? Grinder spindles bearings are usually not installed the way a milling spindle is where you have a lot of trust, but the grinder spindle has less trust and more Concentricity.
The spring on the way it was installed is pressing the outside race the wrong direction. The drawing you have on top looks correct to me too. The way I have seen them set up is the front set is back to back or outside race thin end facing opposite way and out.