What's new
What's new

Surface grinder restoration, please help...

Stang Bladeworks

Aluminum
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum. I am a hobbyist knifemaker who knows basically nothing about machining. In order to make the types of knives I want to I have acquired some simple machines. My surface grinder was purchased over a year ago from a sporting goods store who used it for gunsmithing. I am told it is a 40s vintage reid grinder. I have researched a fair amount about them but I have found that online forums are a great way to learn and get answers from real people who know their stuff. I have asked alot already on knifemaking forums but I haven't found all the answers I'm looking for.

The motor is a 3 phase 220/400V motor that was previously run single phase using capacitors to help out. I have removed the capacitors and used a vfd to run at 240V 3 phase. The motor seems to run great. My questions really lie on the maintenance of the machine. It has been recommended that I tear the machine down and clean / inspect it. So far I have removed the chuck and the top table exposing the ways used in the x axis of travel.

There are some marks but im not sure how big of a deal they are. I will include a bunch of pictures after this initial post, as soon as I figure out how. Basically I am hoping to post pics of the tear down as I go and have people provide their input on potential issues and recommendations.

I am interested in learning any best practices and proper methods to get the best result possible. Any recommendations on specific lubricants, upgrades, repairs etc are greatly appreciated. I believe that this was once an automatic machine that was converted to manual. I have had no luck finding any type of manual so far. I am more than fine with retaining the manual functionality I don't need an auto setup.