What's new
What's new

Turcite found on new-to-me Bridgeport. Help needed

wordsmith07

Aluminum
Started this in the Bridgeport Forum but thought this might be a better place for help.
Bought a mill and stripped it down to rebuild head/table/ knee etc.
Found .0030 turcite on the saddle , top and bottom.
All gibs had been run all the way in so my question is:
Should I install thicker turcite since the gibs were maxed out? Will that give me more adjustment ?
Also I see there was a milled out section in the middle of bearing surface.
I guess that make leveling easier?
I have no experience on scraping. The next class in my area is January 2021.
I have a 8" precision level but no long straightedge master.
On the bearing surface for table, one end only of turcite was almost worn through.
Any advice appreciated.View attachment 301246View attachment 301247

It sounds as if someone already put Turcite on it and didn't glue it on good, or did you strip it off? The Turcite was on the flats. Was it on the opposite side dovetails and the gibs? You must mean .030" / (thirty thousands)?

If I were you I be a detective and do some testing with some plastic shim stock.Shim Stock, Color Coded Shim Stock: Artus Corp. then start with .030 (old size) .005" for the typical glue thickness. You can cut a shim from the assortment say 1" wide and 3" long. Slide that in to the 4 corners and slide the gib in and see what it looks like. If it was on the opposite side of dovetail. slide in the shims there too. Then if that fits up good with the plastic shims then use that size Turcite. It is .032" , contact Bearing Manufacturer | Bearing Supplier | TriStar Plastics and order Rulon 142 and the glue. They sell it per sq. foot. it will be 12" and you tell them them 24" or at least 1" longer then the ways. You can cut it with sharp scissors I would also cut it 1/4" wider too.....check it out and let us what you find. Or if this sounds confusing call me tomorrow. 651 338 8141. Rich