What is in your bag of tricks to take off the grime on a 80 year old machine? - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Brian you should have been an expert long ago scraping goo off the farm tractors you repair in your real job??? I also used to have a steam cleaner for the real rough projects and then sprayed down the metal with kero and oil afterwards. But for the most part I used Industrial cleaner and HOT water. Basic H industrial soap worked great (I tested several before settling for it) Now I would use what Mud is recommending. Oh for those who don't know I have been rebuilding machine tools and cleaning them since I was an apprentice in the late 1960's. I got the crap jobs back then. Now I clean the household dirty jobs for my boss of 44 years. lol

2. Likes BrianB, SPDTool liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

For all the hand scrubbers out there, impulse buy that turned out to work pretty well. You can make any kind of "brush" pretty easily and the charge is decent. You can probably get by making something similar out of a HF tool like mentioned, but figured id share!

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Dremel-V...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

4. Likes Kevin T liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Hey Richard, do they make a goo scraping attachment for the Biax? lol I use a steam power washer at work, it will clean and even take paint off if you crank it up. I would be leery using it on a machine tool though as it will blow dirt and water into any gap or crevice it gets close to. Kind of like I would never sandblast a machine unless it was totally apart.

6. Likes Richard King, SPDTool liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Massachusetts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)