Whitworth-three plate method - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I'm not very experienced with lapping, I mostly do scraping. Anyhow, I guess that the issue is that the plate on the top (the one that is being moved) is subjected to pressures and parts of it overhang from the edges of the bottom plate at the end of each motion: the bottom plate could grow low at the edges, while the top one could grow high at the edges.

This is all I could think about.

Paolo

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

If you watch the first part of this video you might get a bit closer to understanding a different perspective.

YouTube

Charles

Country
    AUSTRALIA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Paolo_MD View Post
    I guess that the issue is that the plate on the top (the one that is being moved) is subjected to pressures ....

Paolo
    Newton's third law tells us that to every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. In other words, any pressure (force) from the top plate onto the bottom plate exerts an identical pressure from the bottom plate onto the top one. That is why I can't see any need to alternate the top and bottom plates.

Country
    AUSTRALIA
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by CBlair View Post
    If you watch the first part of this video you might get a bit closer to understanding a different perspective.

YouTube

Charles
    Charles, I watched the video and I think I can understand how he can end up with three identical but not-flat surfaces doing what he did, which was rub the plates without changing their orientation. My understanding is that part of the method involves rotating the plates around their 'Y' axes while doing the rubbing, to randomise the wear.