What's new
What's new

Why not scrape in reverse?

jamiesaun

Plastic
Hey guys, how's it hangin?

So let me start by saying I'm not a professional by any stretch, as will no doubt become obvious soon enough. Im just a hobbiest with too many hobbies.

Having said that, When watching the scraping process, it seems pretty reasonable if the surface is already pretty close to flat. But when it's way out, why not lap the thing flat with sandpaper on a surface plate or something, then blue it up and scrape for points? In other words, scrape for low points as opposed to scraping away the high points?

Just seems way easier. Thanks for any responses on this.

Hey guys, how's it hangin?

So let me start by saying I'm not a professional by any stretch, as will no doubt become obvious soon enough. Im just a hobbiest with too many hobbies.

Having said that, When watching the scraping process, it seems pretty reasonable if the surface is already pretty close to flat. But when it's way out, why not lap the thing flat with sandpaper on a surface plate or something, then blue it up and scrape for points? In other words, scrape for low points as opposed to scraping away the high points?

Just seems way easier. Thanks for any responses on this.

Not sure I'm following how that's reversed. Sanding down an area is still removing metal. If an area has enough wear or damage (anything deviation greater than .001"-.002"), it is always advised to start by milling or grinding it flat, this is part of roughing it in. Trying to hand grand or lap it down is going to take much much much longer though.

Often, surfaces are scraped when you can't get to them with anything else because the process is so versatile. If you don't have the ability to haul a mill table to a machine that can mill or grind it down, many guys will just scrap it down. It takes longer (each pass with a scraper will remove aprox. .0002"), but it works.