What's new
What's new

Is this South Bend lathe still a good buy?

raselo

Plastic
Hello!

I am planning to buy this South Bend lathe.

The seller says that the back gear is already worn out. Thus, the lathe cannot run at low speeds.

I am just a beginner at machining. I want to learn lathe machining as a hobby.

Is this lathe still a good buy?
received_2176048082432989.jpgreceived_2446411855417757.jpgreceived_1904691306303166.jpg
Would installing an inverter and a three-phase motor solve the issue of the broken gear?

Thank you.

Cheers!

I'm not sure what the seller means by "worn out". The usual problem with the back gear is broken teeth on one or more of the gears in that system caused by misuse, NOT wear. He may mean that the spring loaded plunger which keeps pressure on the back gear engagement cam is missing or not working. This will cause the back gear to work out of engagement while using it. Or, the gear assembly may not have lubed correctly and is now a bit loose on the shaft it rides on.
Obviously, I can't tell the condition of the back gear from the above pics, but it does appear the back gear shaft is in place. All these parts are easily replaced and can be found on ebay or from folks here.
As long as the rest of the machine is in good shape, I'd buy it and repair the back gear, it should not be a difficult nor expensive repair.
Using a VFD to get variable speed is cool but not good for very low motor rpm like you'd need with no back gear. You loose a lot of torque that way.

I think that as a beginner you should not buy a lathe in unknown condition, especially since the one you showing seems in poor shape. As a beginner you you will have enough challenges besides dealing with lathe related problems. And there is no shortage of good machines at very reasonable prices.

"It is a South Bend 10K....how can anyone know if it's a good buy without knowing the price??"

I apologize for this. The seller wants 650USD for it.