What's new
What's new

Submarine Tender machine shop pics

goldiver

Aluminum
My US Navy time was spent aboard the USS HOLLAND AS-32, a repair ship commissioned in 1963 to service "boomers" (SSBN missile boats) although we worked on all other types from time to time.....

I was an electronics tech (ETN2) working on radiation detection and measuring gear, but I went into the machine shop from time to time to have things made or to scrounge materiel.....I'd taken machine shop in high school but the chief in charge wouldn't let me near any of his machines, not even the grinder.....Said something like "you ET's don't know nuthin' 'bout REAL machinery".....Oh well.....

I was very impressed with the shop (and foundry) that took up several thousand square feet of that deck.....The HOLLAND measured 599' long by 83' beam, and the machine shop was, by far, the largest space on the ship.....

The ship was decommissioned in 1996 and now awaits it's fate with the "ghost fleet" in Susuin Bay near Benecia, CA.....A former crewmwmber doing survey work on another vessel in the group took 90 + pics of her recently and even managed to get several of the shop.....About halfway down the pics, past the engine control room, are the machine pics.....No ID's on the pics, but the variety of machinery is interesting.....

http://www.tendertale.com/tenders/132/132-2.html

Jim