Blue collar, white collar.. my observations in the US and what about other cultures? - Page 4
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Mike1974 View Post
    Must be a FL thing. I had a toilet replaced, that I purchased, for just a bit over $200!

Both of you messed up by pulling a permit.

I helped my neighbor swap 3 toilets in his house for whatever the cost of the toilets was, plus a couple cans of Coke for me.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I guess I never paid much attention. My dad has a bachelors degree in industrial education (qualified to be a teacher), but has worked all my life as a self employed mechanic and machinist. I have a BS in mechanical engineering. I pretty much hated every minute of working in an office, and I also work as a self employed mechanic and machinist. I've met many other degreed engineers working blue collar type jobs. Engineers are a dime a dozen currently.

I do recall a pecking order in college. There was an engineering hall and a industrial hall. The industrial hall was probably what you might call a "blue collar" occupation, though those guys were getting bachelors degrees as well. Commonly students would fail out of one of the endless math classes set up to weed out half (or more) of the folks who wanted to be engineers. They would transfer to the Industrial Technology program. The engineering students referred to it as "IT" for "I Tried". In hind sight, I probably should have transferred too.