UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Dudley624 View Post
    Well, this is an interesting thread...

May I nudge in with a question? A few posts back, there was a comment about railroads paying tax on the land. I’m not an expert, but I do know that the (idle) railway land in my town is not taxed, because it is legally exempt. It has been my impression that all railroads that exist for commerce, all across the nation, are free from real estate tax. I do not think my state is somehow unique. Can anyone expand on this?

Also, I mentioned the idle status of the track here in town. No train has rolled on that track since perhaps the 70’s; indeed the track is so poor that it can no longer bear any weight. However, the track is technically still there, and apparently that’s all it needs to do to still be called a railroad for tax-status purposes. I see this as representing a particularly forgiving attitude toward railroad companies as regards land taxation, which adds to my belief that they are exempt.

Disclaimer: Not taking a stand here, only seeking clarification from those with greater knowledge if available.
    I found that interesting also so I started researching it. What I have initially have found is that the general trend is to not tax it. It is a discussed issue though complicated and so it is sort of long reading. It does tie into subsidtoies and land grants which were given in the interest of the transportation and shipping value to the economy of the railroads.

It obviously has paid off and so that is good regardless of the details of how it was done. Automobiles are shipped on railroads here still today and of course many different things. When people travel long distances they drive or fly. Family members do use the rail and like it yet it does take some time.