What's new
What's new

Hello everyone

Big Ragu

Plastic
I just joined the site, looks like a great forum. I tool machining classes in high school, and after I graduated I worked as a machinist for about 5 years. The shop I worked at closed, and I went to work as a fabricator. For about 10 years now I have been away from machining, I did some lathe work over the years but nothing major. Once again, the plant I worked at closed, and I was laid off. I decided this past January to go back to school, so that I could go back to work doing what I love-machining.

I enrolled in school in their Precision Machining aas program in January, and as soon as I laid my hands on a mill, everything I thought I had forgotten instantly came back to me. I forgot how much I loved it. In NY, when you are on unemployment and attending school, there's a program that you can apply for and if they accept your course of study the state will pay your unemployment for the time you are in school. Well, mine was denied, because they said that this field was going no where, and that machining was dieing out.

Is this the trend all over the country? Wen I worked as a machinist, there was over 200 shops here in Rochester. Now I understand that that number is far smaller. I really want to go back to work machining, do you think it will be tough finding a job in the field? Thanks for any info

Mike

Welcome to the forum Mike;

About the only fields of work not dying out in the southern tier of NY are social work and unemployment claims clerk.

I started my business in Hornell, about 60 miles south of you, in 1992. My first ad for a machinist garnered about 30 calls. Most had been out of work for more than a year.

It's a shame because the folks in upstate NY are some of the nicest and hardest working people I've ever known.

Doug

Welcome to the forum Mike;

About the only fields of work not dying out in the southern tier of NY are social work and unemployment claims clerk.