Hydrogen fuel is a bigger joke than ethanol...
Close
Login to Your Account
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Hydrogen fuel is a bigger joke than ethanol...

Yeah I have read the ethanol thread here and can't let this go either. I am an engineer, my senior design project at the University of North Dakota was the desing of a PEM hydrogen fuel cell and drive line for a two passaner car. Yeah we made it work and built the car in 2004. My presentation to the department however was that any idiot can buy proton exchange membrane, bulit a fuel cell stack and control its operation, but it will take the next nobel prize winner to make enough hydrogen and store it to be used in cars. Consider the the energy needed to compress H2 to 10,000 psi in a cylinder, what is running the compressor? There is research in other chemical storage methods for hydrogen and even if they get that to work reliably there is another probelm...

A major car company made a solar h2 genrating station and they showcased it fueling a family car powered by a fuel cell. What they forgot to mention was that it took the entire week for that stattion to fuel that one car. Short of buliding nuclear reactors to generate the hydrogen to fuel cars, this technology ain't gonna work. AND why convert the electricity to hydrogen???? why not ..... just use the elcetricity???

The coroporate propaganda surrounding hydrogen as a fuel makes me sick. I think it is to gain empathy from the cutomer so they don't feel guilty buing a freakin hummer as long as the company has happy alternative fuel adds on TV... I swear they think we are all children...

Anyway I may be preaching to a chior here...

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Yep,

You reached the choir. "Aaaaahhhhmmeeennn.