What's new
What's new

North American Foundry for Small job?

mhajicek

Diamond
Can anyone recommend a North American foundry that would be good for a small cast steel job? Parts would be about a pound each, around 6" on the longest axis, and about a dozen of them. They don't have to be super accurate, but I'd like decent surface finish and good quality steel without breaking the bank.

Thanks!

I have no experience with any of these companies.

Some folks in the South use Windy Hill for small runs and one-offs.

Crucible Tool uses a local foundry in Cincinnati and gets good results. Have to contact them to find out who the foundry is.

Fireball Tool reportedly uses a local foundry and they are located in Spokane, WA. Unconfirmed though and you’d have to contact Jason with Fireball.

Here in the Pacific Northwest we've used Travis Pattern, formerly New Castings, out of Spokane for years. Most of the parts we get done by them range from the size of a coffee coaster on up to the size of a canteloupe and are usually done in relatively small runs. Our castings are usually made from cast iron, a few of them are alloy; typically rollers, sprockets, or implement points / knives.

https://www.travispattern.com/

Another one is Cattail Foundry in SE PA. Its Amish run so communication may be a bit harder. I was thinking that Richard King was using a foundry local to Minnesota for his King-Way straight edges?