What's new
What's new

Preparing to manufacture, and some big questions need answers

Guy Fawkes

Plastic
Hey guys and gals! My first post here at Practical Machinist. I'm basically a newb at most everything I am currently undertaking, to be honest. My dad always told me, "Son, you gotta step outta your d@mn comfort zone!"

Boy did I. So I invented something awesome. Probably not world-changing awesome, but awesome enough to change the world of one little family if I can get it to market. And maybe a few others along the way, too.

So I have been pushing forward on this project for almost two years now, scraping together what meager cash I could save from my dead-end job. And I have finally ordered my first production model!

Suddenly I find myself with a ton of pressing questions, things to do, loose ends to tie up, and all those little things that until recently were mere blurry shadows of questions off in the distance. Now I need answers.

I put my trust in God and Google once again. If it wasn't for the wonders of the Internet I wouldn't have gotten this far!

So if you have a moment, I would like to pick the collective minds of this wonderful forum. I have many important questions indeed, but I would like to only ask one very important one with my first thread.

My product is a 2D design cut out of sheet metal. It is a camping stove, to be exact. Which means that the 2d panels assemble to create a 3D object. As I get closer to being able to actually offer these stoves for sale, protecting my intellectual property becomes the top priority.

Because of the nature of the invention, a patent might not be an option due to patent infringement possibilities. It's a series of interlocking panels that assemble to make a stove. Nothing really new there, so utility I believe is off the table. It's how I do it that is unique.