What's new
What's new

Looking for help prototyping a new invention

Chris Reinhardt

Plastic
I may be shooting in the dark here but I’m looking to find a shop that could help me prototype a proof of concept for a new invention for the construction industry, specific to roofing; that I can take to the tool manufacturers. I’d be interested in offering a share of royalties for payment of this which could be negotiated. I’m just a lowly project manager of commercial development with 5 kids so I don’t have a lot of money to throw at this. I did start out in industrial engineering with DANA so I’m not entirely new to this, but I’ve been out of it for about 12 years now. As far as the protyping aspect of it, there shouldn’t be to many difficult process. The overall design is essentially a reconfiguration of existing tried and true mechanisms. The purpose of the tool is to allow the lowest paid man on site to do the highest paid mans job without the fear of errors outside of tolerance. In the roofing industry low cost production and efficiency is the name of the game and this offers both. So maybe there is a shop that would be interested in a tax write off? Maybe there’s a shop that specializes in this sort of thing? Maybe someone wants to take a chance on it. I’m not sure but any advice from you all would be amazing and appreciated. As you can understand to talk further about design specifics all parties involved would have to go into a confidentiality agreement. Thanks in advance for any advice on possible avenues or interest.

Chris, you may be a stand-up guy that would never, ever stiff anybody. I have no reason to think otherwise. But the reality is that some, if not most of us shop owners have come across this exact same plea for help, only to regret taking the bait in one way or another. I have completely sworn off local walk-in work for many years now because of dealings like this going bad. In other words, people generally suck in my experience.