Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Milland View Post
    ...For the main gear, a tough, hard plastic like PEEK might work for you, ideally with a fill material like glass or carbon fiber (but you'd NEED hard metal pinions with a fill).

StackPath

Replacing Metal with PEEK Polymers to Improve Gear Reliability, Performance and Efficiency

I'll check out PEEK polymers. I was thinking of making the main bevel gear out of glass-filled nylon, but don't know if/how it could be machined.

The most popular propellers for alcohol/castor oil fuel model aircraft engines are made of glass-filled nylon by Master Airscrew but they're injection molded. Cost prohibitive until I win the lottery.

Classic Series | Master Airscrew

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Pennsylvania
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by saucerdesigner View Post
    I'm not an engineer either and very inexperienced at machining, obviously, and not sure I understand how a reduction gearbox would help in my case. The main gear diameter and RPM cannot be changed as the lift to be produced is predicated on those values. The main gear is a ring bevel gear supported by bearings at multiple points around the periphery.
    Thanks for the suggestions though.
    You missed the part about "lower tooth speed will help it live", so you doo the reduction in stages, not all at once, with a planetary gear, not all at the bevel.

You really, really need to seek out a gear expert.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by digger doug View Post
    snip - You really, really need to seek out a gear expert.
    Agreed. I'll seek out a gear expert before requesting a quote again. Suggestions on a gear expert are welcome.