What's new
What's new

Seeking custom tap and die set

Thorsrevenge1

Plastic
Hello everyone, Im new to posting, though I have stalked through the forum for years reading this and that. I run a blacksmith and fabrication shop out in colorado and I'm in need of some one off tooling that I do not have the skills or knowledge to make myself. To that end here I am hoping to find someone to take on the project.

The project is to make a set or two of some one off tooling I need. Specifically I need a tap and die set for cutting 1" 4 start threads with each individual thread being 1" 4tpi, with each start clocked 90 degrees from the last. Now not being a machinist myself I know this is not nearly enough nor precise enough information to actually get the job done. Luckily or I think it's lucky. I have examples of both the internal and external threads I needs the tools to make. As to heat treating depending on the material I do have the means to do some heat treating on more basic tool steels such as s7 or basic carbon steels. If anyone can give me a quote for the project that would be awesome. Or if you know someone who might be willing that would be helpful too.

Than you.

For custom taps and dies, look to Widel Industries (Mich/Fla) or North American Tool (Chi Town).

However - I would think that the finished parts would more likely be cut on a CNC lathe with single point tooling.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

I'm hoping to find a small shop or hobbyist that can take on the job as this is a one off. Most larger shops I've talked to want a minimum order of sets. I unfortunately only need the one set two max.

I'm hoping to find a small shop or hobbyist that can take on the job as this is a one off. Most larger shops I've talked to want a minimum order of sets. I unfortunately only need the one set two max.

You obviously have no clue what you are asking for.
The last person that you want making a tap or die is a hobbyist.