What's new
What's new

1996 jlg 45e

Hi everyone!

I've seen posts about boom lifts on here before, and am not sure in what section, so please forgive me if I'm in the wrong place!

But I run this lift at work, and am wondering, is there a limit to how far out you can extend the boom when high up in the air? Everyone I ask has a different answer. Seems to me like it would put a lot of leverage on the base of the machine. But I'm no engineer. Some people have said it won't let you do anything unsafe, but it is just an old machine after all. Others have said they wouldn't because the boom is too small for their weight. I've never had formal training, but also don't want to tip over from 45' in the air either! If anyone has experience with these and could share some knowledge/wisdom with me, that would be great!

Thanks!

My experience with boom and scissor lifts is that they won't let you do anything unsafe. The new ones are ridiculous. In fact, that's why I went out and bought my own 10 year old one because I couldn't rent one that would work without driving my nuts with the safety crap.

I find the easiest way to get into trouble with people lifts is overloading them. Usually they have a 500-700 lb payload and that goes down if you are working over the side or have the slide outs fully extended. So, my recommendation is to be aware of the weight you are loading it with and use common sense. I know my JLG scissor lift only senses the load in the first 2 feet of lift. So if I use the forklift to get it started I can lift, say, 2 tons instead of the recommended 500 lb max.

Looking up your model # that looks like the cheap charley sort of articulating thing. I really wouldn't expect to get 20+ years out of one of those for commercial use. The shooting boom types are a lot beefier and better built than those ones.