What's new
What's new

Come along ratings - 2 ton unit pulling 3T mill up a 2 degree grade slab?

JasonPAtkins

Hot Rolled
Hi all, could someone please confirm or dispel my paranoia? I've never used a power puller before. I am going to need to pull a 3 ton Tree J425 rolling on pipes up a 2 degree (8" rise over 32') ramp to get it into my shop. That same mill was pulled up an implement trailer's much more steep ramps with a (I'm sure much more powerful) electric winch, but here, the incline is so gradual, and since it'll be rolling on pipes, I can't imagine it would be a problem. However... I don't like pulling a 3 ton object with a device rated for only 2 tons. I *assume* it means 2 tons of pulling force, in other words the force that would be required to lift that mill straight up in the air, if it only weighed 2 tons. If that's the case, it certainly won't see anything close to that much force to pull the 3 ton mill up such a gradual ramp, and especially when rolling on pipe.

I'm pretty sure I'm right about this, but still want to double check because: 1) it's dumb to violate safety ratings you don't fully understand, and 2) 6000# rolling back down that ramp uncontrolled if something goes wrong sounds like a recipe for a really bad day.

(The puller in question is a Maasdam, not a fancifully rated Chinese piece of HF junk.)

If it's in good shape, with no damage to cable or frame, and anchored correctly on both ends, you'll be fine*.

*Don't sue me when it breaks free, rolls into the street, and crushes a bus full of orphans.