What's new
What's new

Home Made Machine Skates Ideas/Plans

KevinPartner

Plastic
Hello all! This is my first time posting in the rigging forum, and I'd like some opinions on a design for home made machine skates I have:
Untitled.jpg
The rolling surfaces will be 1/2 x 1 1/8 bearings and have a static load rating of 530lb: McMaster-Carr
The plates that hold the axles (1/2 drill rod) will be 3/4 x 6 x 1 3/4 with the holes drilled appropriately. Since I am using 18 of them per skate, I'd assume that I can handle my 6000 lb mill with four of them. Any ideas on if I should wrap the bearings in something, and if so what? This will just be for moving the mill across concrete in my garage. Anything over the pavement will merit disassembling the mill into the 3000lb, 1000lb, 500lb, 500lb pieces which I will then drag around using a pallet jack. (I know there is weight missing from that, it's all the small parts that I can carry by hand)

Also, I went a little crazy on the bearings as in Canada the only source I could find that sells them for a reasonable price sells them in a package of 100.

Edit: It appears I've attached the thumbnail, here is the full drawing: Home Made Machine Skates - Album on Imgur

Last edited:
Interesting concept. I like having more floor clearance... The side view makes it appear tangent.

Have you looked on eBay for these? ... I got my last 2 sets there very reasonable.

2 pallet jack replacement wheels is what I'd be designing around.

Sent from my E6810 using Tapatalk

I'll probably drill a bit closer to the bottom of the piece, I like to position it all out when I have the parts on hand. And unfortunately ebay Canada is quite slim pickings for the skates haha

I'll probably drill a bit closer to the bottom of the piece, I like to position it all out when I have the parts on hand. And unfortunately ebay Canada is quite slim pickings for the skates haha