What's new
What's new

Moving ideas

Jersey John

Stainless
Hi folk

I'm looking for new ways to move Lathes and Mills around the home workshop.

I've been doing it for many years with Rollers, Skates, Bars and Tubes and usually called on a friend with that old line "Hey you haven't got five minutes to spare have you ... It's not HEAVY" etc etc. :liar:"

Now retired and not too many folk around at five minutes notice I'd appreciate your "Inventions" and designs to assist moving your "Pride & Joy" around the workplace.:toetap:

Now I've got a Hardinge HLV-H (Non standard and very heavy 2000lbs) again and wondering about having brackets with rollers fitted to the corners or something similar? (For moving only)

I've had to access the back of the lathe several times over the last week and there's been a lot of sweat and stress(Guess age has something to with it!)

Comments, pictures and ideas sincerely welcomed :typing:

John

Over the years I have saved lots of bearings that were used but taken out of service for rebuilds. I will take length of round stock 1" ,1.5" cut off length needed, anywhere from 2' or more as needed. Pick out bearings just bigger then shaft I'd. Turn shoulders for bearings, drill and tap shaft for keepers. Now you have a low profile roller on each end that's stable and easy to adjust for turns. Pinch bars still required to load and unload.

When I was starting my business and bought a 1" steel 4x8 table I had to move without any lifts. I welded a trailer Jack to each corner and welded a wheel under the jack. Now I can remove them with a pin, or quickly pin then on and wheel the heavy 1500# table around.

Pallet truck
Put everything on wooden blocks that you can put a pallettruck under it
At the corners only is the best You can get under the machine at diferent angles then
if you find a normal pallet truck is too high you have super low pallettrucks only 1.5' high
Your floor needs to be in good condition for those though

Peter