What's new
What's new

Moving Lathe OUT of basement

HemiRambler

Plastic
New Member here. First post. I've been a home machinist for a number of years and sadly my mentor has gone into a nursing home and his wife offered me to buy his 5914 Clausing Lathe.

Book shows it weighing 1120 lbs. (IIRC)

I need to:

move it up a flight of stairs - straight shot. Stairs are wood - built in late 1950's stringers are NOT grooved.

I plan on:

Adding a 4x4 post under one side of the landing (where I have access)

Adding 2 or 3 support post under the stair treads - probably jam a 2x6 under several and then put 2x4 columns in.

Put 2x6 runners ful length of the stairs with 2x nailed on the top sides to act as guides and also a few 2x4 or 2x6's acrosss the bottoms to tie the runner together and spread the load some.

I have an extension of my hitch with which I can mount a winch - my current winch is only rated at 2,000 lbs - initially I thought that was fine but am now thinking I need a back up plan should that run out of power.

I plan on addign a Safety Anchor (not sure what yet - I have access to various come alongs, ratchet straps etc.

I plan on puttign the lathe on 4x4 runners thru bolted to lathe feet with a couple cross braces.

I plan on adding soap or wax to runners

I plan on pulling up the HEADSTOCK end up first - so that when it "tips" at the top of the stairs - it will be minimal - was even thinking some insulation foam to cushion the landing might be a good insurance idea.

I plan on adding some sheetmetal to the front bottom of teh 4x4 runners

I plan on having some plywood on the landing extend out onto the driveway which I would attach to the 2x6 stair runners locking everything in place.

So IF you've made it this far -Thank You for your perseverance! My questions are:

what are the areas I may be overlooking? Is the winch a total dud? (oh btw I am going to remove just the easy stuff. Motor, tailstock, chuck, covers.)