What's new
What's new

My gantry crane build

av8or1

Aluminum
Hi-

How are you? My name is Jerry. I would like to introduce myself and my upcoming project on the practical machinist forum. First thing's first. I am impressed by the technical content y'all have here regarding machinist related topics! Although not a machinist myself, I do some light fabrication and so a quick read of a few threads has been educational. Thanks. So who am I then? Well by day I sling software for a living. However my hobbies trend toward automotive based projects. On occasion therein I find the need to lift stuff. Heavy stuff, well "heavy" in this context anyway. Probably not so heavy in the machinist's world. Anyway, I'm getting off in the weeds a bit here, as I tend to do sometimes. :D The point being that my outbuilding isn't tall enough for a lift and the doors are neither tall nor wide enough to pull my trucks inside of it to boot, so I decided that I should just build a gantry crane. And actually I didn't even know the proper name for a gantry when the idea struck me. I think I referred to it as "that lifting mechanism ... you know, the one that they have in manufacturing shops and ship yards ... yeah that thing." And having made that admission, I can hear y'all now: "oh boy, here we go again!" :wall: :rolleyes5: :D