What's new
What's new

Need advice for moving milling machine with fork lift

West-7

Aluminum
I just got a excello 602 milling machine that I need to move into the shop and thought I'd ask for some advice from professionals with more experience before moving forward. I have some experience moving and rigging equipment but that was with all the proper equipment and on hard surfaces. My fork lift was rated for 3000 lbs in 1952 so it may be a stretch for it to lift this thing.

Mill is currently crated outside of garage on the ground. The ground around the machine is very compacted but I may still end up sinking in when I try to lift the mill. Any suggestions for what I can put under the tires to prevent sinking? I have steel plate I can use but I'd rather not reduce it to scrap if I don't have to.

My forks are 2' too short to go under the crating and I would require extensions which would reduce the capacity of my already weak fork lift. I could probably lift the mill from the turret but I'm worried about tipping the mill over. Would making up extensions out of some 1/4" wall rectangular tubing be sufficient for this?

Any other suggestions for how I should do this?

Will take pictures right awayAIMAG0760.jpg

Attachments

• IMAG0758.jpg
    IMAG0758.jpg
    101.6 KB · Views: 204
  • IMAG0761.jpg
    IMAG0761.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 187
  • IMAG0762.jpg
    IMAG0762.jpg
    98.3 KB · Views: 189
  • IMAG0764.jpg
    IMAG0764.jpg
    100.8 KB · Views: 220
Last edited:
Move table and head as close to turret as possible. Pick from turret side and minimal amount of lift as possible. Ie keep it low. Prior to pick, drive back and over the ground to make sure it’s compacted. If the forklift doesn’t sink in, the forklift and mill are not likely too. Drive slow. You can always add a strap at the top of turret to the mast to keep it on the forks in case you stop too fast.