What's new
What's new

Rigging A Gas Pack For Lifting, Neophyte Needs Advice

Vladymere gr

Hot Rolled
Fellows,

I am in need of advice. I am a home hobbyist who will be fitting a gas pack to my shop. I do have some experience with the HVAC world but am not a professional yet I should be able to complete the work myself and to the standards required by local governing bodies.

I am not experienced at rigging equipment for lifting though I have moved my Bridgeport mill, 1000 lb. lathe and one ton lathe around my shop.

I am attaching an image of the gas pack extracted from the installation manual showing how the gas pack should be rigged for lifting.

I plan to rent a 1 1/2 ton mini track hoe to lift and carry the gas pack, which weighs 400 lbs., to the pad I have poured to receive it. The gas pack dimensions are 4'wide by4 1/2'long by 32" tall. The rigging will be hoisted by the bucket of the min track hoe.

My primary question is what material should I use for the rigging/lifting lines? The lines, as shown in the image, will pass through 1" holes in the 2"x2" thin walled square tubing that supports the bottom of the gas pack. Spreader bars will be made to support the lines, as shown in the image, at the top of the gas pack.

So, my question, what should my rigging lines be made from? Again the gas pack weighs 400 pounds. Should I be using rope? If I use rope what material should the rope be made from and what diameter line? Hemp rope? Nylon rope? I don't have the knowledge to figure the strain on the rope at the corners where it will pass through the holes in the 2"x2" tubing or the corners where it will pass through the spreader bars. I figure I can use rubber hose on the line where it passes through the holes in the 2"x2" to keep the sharp edges from abrading the line.