What's new
What's new

Advice for a Mazak SQT 18MS-Y MACHINE TOOL

Gordon123

Plastic
The company I work for purchased a well used Mazak SQT 18MS-Y with a sub-spindle, after 6 months of working with it, they are not that happy with our ability, we need to do better. So, I have a few questions on how to do better with this machine. The machine ONLY has the Mazatrol T-plus programming, it is NOT set up for EIA/ISO codes.

1. Best way to transfer file from control to desk top computer? (I'm thinking a DNC tranfer device?)

2. Any idea what the cost would be to upgrade control to use standard G-codes?

3. If control is upgraded, can you use a generic post to program from Autodesk Inventor/HSM CAM?

4. If we do not upgrade the control, is Mazak training on the T-plus control worth the money?

Any and All advice is welcomed, I myself favor the Fanuc controls, I have little to NO experience with
the Mazatrol T-plus programming.

Upgrade to EIA programming with a MSQY? The T+ controller is perfect for programming that machine. Most people are able to self teach on that controller. Youtube has some pretty good stuff, but the programming is a piece of cake. Get some one local to show you the basics, and you will be off and running soon. The learning curve is quite shallow. Hell, you throw a few bucks my way, and I will have you writing simple programs in an hour. The most complex stuff might take a couple of days. Dig in man! Grab a manual and go! On a simple lathe like this, once you go Mazatrol, you will never look back.

The company I work for purchased a well used Mazak SQT 18MS-Y with a sub-spindle, after 6 months of working with it, they are not that happy with our ability, we need to do better. So, I have a few questions on how to do better with this machine. The machine ONLY has the Mazatrol T-plus programming, it is NOT set up for EIA/ISO codes.

1. Best way to transfer file from control to desk top computer? (I'm thinking a DNC tranfer device?)