What's new
What's new

Help with Inspecting a used Integrex and some other questions about integrexes

Ianagos

Stainless
Hello there guys. I’ve been in need of a lathe since I sold my SQT and the other one. My plan was to pick up a QTN Msy but those bad boys are pretty pricey and for not much more I can get into the same era of Integrex machines which are better for what I do anyhow. (Low volume turning typical with a few milled features) That is what has gotten me here

So I am new to the world of Mill turn centers but I know I like Mazak and mazatrol and I have great support through Mazak tech center about 45 minutes away.

My question is what should I look for when inspecting this machine? I know some of the basic stuff to check like ways and backlash etc. but I also know an integrex is a very complex machine that I know very little about.

Also curious on pricing and would like forum members opinions on a mk4 vs trying to move to an I series machine.

The mk4 machines I’ve seen go for around 120k for one with sub and lower turret.
The very few I series I’ve seen are around 230k with just a sub

While I’ve seen the build structure and think the I series makes more sense as far as the y axis and x axis layout they are a lot more money. I’m a very small shop so money is a key factor for me as I would have buy a cheaper lathe and have to wait for an I series or take out a loan vs I could probably get a mk4 right now and be done with it.

I am going to look at an mk4 integrex next week and that’s why I ask about the inspection and what should I check.

So guys opinions? Anybody out there selling one of these machines? I would much rather buy from a private seller rather than a dealer but I haven’t found many private seller with these machines and if I do they are ask more than the dealers.

Lastly I almost forgot. Are there any known or common issues with integrexes or reasons I should look for a different machine?