What's new
What's new

how to define tools to cut both directions in z

jimmycornwell

Plastic
i am using a knurling tool on a qt nexus350m. the problem i have is i would like to feed the tool toward the chuck on first pass and reverse direction on second pass so the knurl feeds back over itself. i cant figure out how to define the tool in tool data to allow it to feed z- and z+.. when i try i get a reverse contour alarm. i am new to mazak, this would not be a problem in g-code on my falcon lathe. i would like to write this program in mazatrol instead.

i would like to write this program in mazatrol instead.

Use the manual process (MNP) for knurling. This is essentially a manual G-code feature inside the Mazatrol program. I have used it with great success knurling and it only needs 3 lines or so. Define the tool like a regular CNMG turning tool and enter the cutting direction to get chuck to spin the way you want.

Mazatrol does not want to reverse direction in this fashion unless you lie to it and tell the machine you are drilling a hole, but you cannot compensate for taper.

could you please send me a sample of the gcode program you use? the part i am knurling is a 2.5"- 11 ga tube with 43" long knurl. the knurls which start at the end of the tube look fine. the problem is the other end of the knurl starts 2 5/8 " from the end and i am having trouble getting them deep enough starting in the middle of the tube.

What kind of material are you knurling?
I knurle 4140 and 1018 from time to time and do it in one pass.The knurling tool came with a data sheet to figure feed rate and depth of cut for a given tool.
Can't remember off hand but most of what I have knurled was something like -.014 from major diameter at .007-.010 IPR depending on material.