What's new
What's new

How easy is Mazatrol?

jacktorrance287

Plastic
My company just ordered three Mazak VCN 530c mills. They have the Smooth G control. We do all of our programming on the shop floor and we have Haas and Fanuc controls on our other machines. I have no experience with Mazatrol but now I'm going to have to learn it. I know that the Mazak control also accepts G code, but I'd be nice to use conversational for speed and ease of use. Our parts aren't crazy complex but all use custom fixtures. So my question is how easy or hard is it to learn Mazatrol coming from primarily Haas conversational? I was hoping they'd get us some CAM software to go with the 300+k they just spent on machines but that remains to be seen I guess.

Never used any newer Mazatrol control then T2 & T3 (30 year old machines).
But even these old mazatrol machines are very easy and flexible to use.

You can see Mazatrol as a CAM software in it self.

I have only used Mazatrol on a lathe but that is super easy. 6 hours of training from a guy that knew his stuff and I had all I needed. When I wonder about something after that it's usually easy to find in the manual. I think I have heard that the milling machines are a little more difficult, but others will probably know about that.

Depending on how you used the Haas conversational, did you define the tools in the machine, or did you just "know" you were using a drill and running it at xxxrpm and feedrate? Mazatrol will need you to define the tools. That was probably the hardest part coming from programming almost exclusively in cam, IMO.