What's new
What's new

Mazak 515 Help

EckFab

Aluminum
Hello, I am new to the cnc world. Setting up my new to me 1995 515/40 with an M Plus controller. I just got power to the machine, it was running parts just before I purchased it back in October of 2015. Its pretty much sat waiting for power(208WYE putting down 215 amps so I set taps to 220). I pulled the battery for 10 minutes one night to order a new one other than that it hasn't been touched. I fired it up for the first time tonight and everything seems to work, spindle movement, spindle run, gear changes etc. I do have a red alarm 370 NC table unclamp sensor malfunction. It has a Tsudakoma 12" rotary. I can unclamp and clamp the rotary click reset and the code will go away for about 10 seconds. Also I can not get X axis to home, there is no red alarm for it so im gonna try to solve the only alarm first then see what happens. I am brand new to cnc machining so im trying my best of translating what my soon to be operator found out tonight. I am very proficient in figuring things out and fixing them myself but im gonna have a learning curve on my machines (515 & SQT15M). He is proficient at programming but not a maintenence guy so that falls on me the owner lol. I appreciate any help anyone has, I have not called any techs etc. yet, was going to see what knowledge is on here first.

Im guessing it is a proximity switch in the rotary or a wiring issue going to it. There is no way to disable the 4th axis system(integrated) is there? curious. I have probably a 100 hours of cleaning and going through the machine before making parts but want to atleast get ball rolling on current alarms.

Ethan

20160126_163929.jpg