What's new
What's new

Mazak M4 with fanuc 6T control alarm 411

mnkota

Plastic
Ok this is my first time posting but have been reading many threads about many issues I have come across. Ok i just recently acquired a mazak M4 lathe 1979-1980 model cant read the tag. previous owner had replaced the x axes drive motor and had no success on ever getting it working again. My investment was just the transportation of this machine to my shop and have now have it up and moving except when trying to move the x axis i get a 411 alarm. press reset drives come on and can move in the z just not the x. from what i know the motor was replaced with a tested rebuilt drive. Any help would be great.

thanks

411 is following error.
Our M4 with a 5T control had the encoder in the motor. and a shear pin between the motor and Z axis lead screw.
Needless to say that when the shear pin broke, usually there was a large boring bar in the rear turret and a bad crash resulted.
My chronic complaining to Mazak service, about the bad design, maintaining that the encoder belonged on the lead screw coupled with the very nasty name I gave it, I was known by name in Japan, that was over 25 years ago. It appears that took my complaints seriously, because when we bought the Micro Slant, it had the X axis encoder on the lead screw so when the shear pin broke, it stopped running.

Since your problem is on X and not Z, you need to determine if the encoder will move if the motor turns, no broken shear pin, and that the axis is not seized (the motor is not able to turn when power is applied).
Does the motor try to turn? If not you may have a bad motor, check the brushes. Or a broken wire in the cable from the motor to the machine.