What's new
What's new

Mazak QTU, anybody got one?

SND

Diamond
Has anyone here been using one of these newer Mazak QTU-250 or -350 turning centers?
Not much user feedback to be found on them so far, been wondering how they are and if its worth keeping on my list.

Just my opinion, but I would not buy an integral motor lathe unless I absolutely needed the newest, fastest, bleeding edge machine. I'm not a Mazak expert, but I think the SQT series machines started the integral spindle motor design.

I have a real hard time trying to see how the integral spindle motor helps anyone but Mazak by cutting the initial cost. I really don't like the floating curvic coupling for the turret either. I guess Mazak just couldn't stand the turret popping out .375" to index. I can understand the need on a B axis machine like an Integrex, but on a 2 axis lathe :confused:.

I'm a big fan of the normal QTN lathes. The QTU's are not in the same league. They are cheaper because the spindles are underpowered and the machines are lighter duty. If you are doing aluminum or brass it's probably fine. I'd say it's equivalent to a Haas SL series lathe, which is the market they are going after.

We were doing some 0.100" DOC rough passes on the OD of a steel part on a QTU250MY, about 6" diameter. I glanced at the load meter and saw the turning spindle was at 110%! It was cutting fine, but the little thing was working hard on a simple cut.

Now all that said, it's still got mazatrol and all the normal goodies so if it was between a Haas lathe and the QTU, I'd take the QTU. But I think it's worth ponying up to the full fledged QT.

I personally love integral spindle motors, no worrying about what gear to be in or drive belts and the ACC/DEC is great.

Integral spindle motors are the standard now on most high-end cnc lathes: Mazak, MoriDMG, and Okuma all build lathes that way....up to a certain big size anyway.