What's new
What's new

Mazak SQT10MS rear sub-spindle alignment and gib adjustment

mkalavitz

Aluminum
Hello,

I have a grandma SQT10MS.

Several years ago, I had the rear spindle rebuilt. My machine repair guy re-installed it, adjusted the gibs, etc.

Currently, I have been running the same production part for several months now. It is really a non-critical part, so have
ignored what I believe is a sub-spindle alignment / gib issue. That is until today....The part has been running well overall until now.

Upon pulling the last two parts off from the machine, the machining of the OD and OD threading coming off the sub spindle is way off. That is, on a 3/8"-24 thread, I can physically feel that the part feels like it has flats on it. It almost a triangular feel to it.

In addition, I have notice for the past several months of machining, that when machining on the sub, I can visible see the spindle 'lift' very slightly when putting pressure on the part during machining. I knew it was doing this, but never caused a problem with the quality of the male threaded part being made. I have been more worried about getting parts off from the machine.

In addition, I believe part of the same overall problem, I have had to reduce the transfer speed of the sub spindle to the front spindle for a transfer down to a slow 20% transfer speed. If I transfer any faster to the front, I can see the sub-spindle chatter on the rails. Literally, it looks like it has a slight bounce to it.

Given the transfer speed, chatter issue on the transfer, and now the problem with machining in the back, I have not choice but to address the issue(s). It needs a serious alignment of the sub spindle / gib adjustment.