What's new
What's new

Mazak VTC 200

ygolohcysp

Plastic
Hello,

I'm a bit new to the CNC world. Have a Bridgeport and small 9x20 lathe at home. Where I work is bringing all their manufacturing in house. I've recently setup a Bridgeport for them, two surface grinders, and I'm in the process of setting up the first of two blanchard grinders. We're also getting a 24x120 lathe here at work.

Anyway, we just purchased a used Mazak VTC 200. My concern so far is just wondering if there is any preparatory work that needs to be done to the machine before it's moved. I know this is a machine with a stationary table, and the spindle does all the travel. Does that need to be blocked in any way? I'm sure the tool magazine/cassette (sorry, not familiar with the exact terminology yet) will be empty. Any special care aside from disconnecting things and proper rigging?

I'm more of a mechanic/technician/almost-engineer with a solid manual machining hobby background, so I'm not going to be the primary operator on this machine, but I'm sure I'll learn. I'm just presently the person with the most hands on experience with machines in general, and have the most machining experience as well. I always appreciate learning things that interest me, so this should be a fun endeavor.

If there's anything else you think I should know about this machine, feel free to chime in. Once we get it, I'll be spending a lot of time reading the manual.

Thank you in advance.

Well, just in case this helps anyone else, it seems the only consideration this machine has beyond moving the standard types of CNC's is that because this machine has a fixed table and the column moves, it tends to be top heavy, and should be bolted down for transit.

Looks like sometime soon, I'll be starting to learn Mazatrol.

Most machine tools benefit from a solid foundation that they're anchored to. If your facility has thin concrete floors, or you're not on a ground floor, you may want to research this issue.