What's new
What's new

Mazatrol Lathe Training Videos--Need Your Ideas Please

Philabuster

Diamond
Hey Guys,

I'm planning on making a bunch of Mazatrol lathe training videos and posting them on YouTube in the near future because I keep getting requests via PMs to make some videos. Searching around on YouTube yields very little in the way of Mazatrol videos so I can definitely see there is a need for this.

I have a bunch of ideas for "advanced" programming methods--tips and tricks I have learned, but I don't really know what types of things you guys would actually like to see. Nobody has asked for anything specific. :confused:

I'm going to enlist the help of a friend of mine who is a cinematographer by trade to film and edit these videos, so these will be professional grade training aids and not shot with a shaky cell phone.

I would appreciate you guys posting up some ideas for lathe video content in this thread as you guys will be my target audience.

Thanks. :cheers:

Phil

Set up tools.
Input tool geometry.
Program a simple toolpath. (Simple shaft)
Program a taper
Program radius and chamfer
Program threads
Input tool wear and tool nose radius
Canned cycles
Roughing cycles
Subroutines
Live tooling (if available)

(b.t.w., I don’t run a Mazak)

You could make a series where you just go through each cycle?
1) Turning
1.1) Face
1.2) Bar
1.3) Thread
1.4) Groove
2) Live Tooling
2.1) Point machining
2.2) Line.....
etc..

Then it would be easy for anyone on Mazatrol to find exactly what they are looking for and easy for you to find out what you've covered :P

Does a 'regular' lathe use the different tool offsets like 1a-b-c-d etc? If so it would be a good idea to cover that IMO. Going from fanuc (d1 or t101) to that style is confusing.

Awesome cant wait to see what you come up with. We all can always learn from each other.
How about some info on tool data tool geometry.