What's new
What's new

Mazak Quick Turn 15 tailstock issues ???

rockfish

Titanium
Since the day I bought my Mazak Quick Turn 15, I have never understood how to use the tailstock. When I try to use the tailstock, my toolpath wants to cut right through it. If I use tailstock barrier......the tool get's within 4" of the tailstock and stops. I can't get anywhere near the part. I have changed the parameter so that my tool goes straight back in X, then moves back in Z....but that has not made any change when the tool comes INTO the part..... it goes diagonally.

Is there a parameter that I'm missing or something else ???

Whenever I run a long part that needs the center, I wind up single stepping each and ever feature.......which leads to mistakes. You forget one time to manually bring that tool near the front of the part, and it tries to run a path right through the live center. I broke..... yet another $150 groove tool and I'm pissed.

Being self taught on these things is not fun.

Frank

Self teach yourself the simplist of TPC (TOOL PATH CONTROL) Program your turning unit, cursor babk to the beginning of the unit, then press the TPC soft key. Cursor past the normal parameters to the MANUAL area, enter 6 for X, 0 for Z, then tpc end. Your tool will now avoid the t.s. A bit of experimenting and you can do anything!

Red,

Not trying to sound stupid.......but your going to have to dumb that explanation down a notch or two for me. I have no idea what TPC is and have never used it. Everything you wrote went right over my head. Remember, I have NOBODY to go to and ask questions, other than this place, so even though I run the machine nearly every day, there is a TON of stuff I know nothing about because I simply don't have anyone to ask and the manuals make ZERO sense and are mostly useless.

Frank