What's new
What's new

New To Mazak Lathes

KDF

Plastic
Hello I am brand new to Mazak lathes! We have a Nexus QT250 with live tooling. I have ran Mori lathes for years and always used G54 for first side of part and then put my second side as g55 with a -.06 difference to move in for my second side. How is this done on a MAZAK using the EIA program. G54 and G55 does not seem to do anything as far as facing .06 off the second side. I really need a quick sample of say tool #1 facing and turning of each side in a single program. I really feel lost as far as this goes. I can write a program no problem but lost on this lathe for 1st and second side. NOT a sub spindle machine. Thanks for any help
:o

Hello I am brand new to Mazak lathes! We have a Nexus QT250 with live tooling. I have ran Mori lathes for years and always used G54 for first side of part and then put my second side as g55 with a -.06 difference to move in for my second side. How is this done on a MAZAK using the EIA program. G54 and G55 does not seem to do anything as far as facing .06 off the second side. I really need a quick sample of say tool #1 facing and turning of each side in a single program. I really feel lost as far as this goes. I can write a program no problem but lost on this lathe for 1st and second side. NOT a sub spindle machine. Thanks for any help

I dont know if any of this helps but on youtube there is a good channel. He goes over a lot.

Mazatrol Tips and Tricks - YouTube

Mazak lathes work better using G53.5 instead of G54. That is the "mazatrol coordinate system" but it works essentially the same. The big difference is every program will have it's own offset. You set this offset for Z (and C if you have milling) on the setup information page. Any tool that has been taught in tool data can be used to teach the offset.