What's new
What's new

Programming the Gl gantry robot

Dave Cross

Titanium
I have a flex gl50n gantry robot on my sqt10ms with t32 control. I'd like to make a program that picks a finished part off the sub spindle only, as I am pulling from a bar through the spindle. None of the set patterns do this intentionally, I am wondering if there is a way I can lie to the CHK2S pattern to do what I want. Unfortunately I have no experience with programming the gantry and I haven't figured it out yet. Thanks:cheers:

Now I'm doing some learning on this too with my GL100. Robot Command #1 is M20, tells the GL to put the part in Head 1. Robot Command #2 is M21, tell the GL to remove part from Head 2.... What if you only call up M21? Will it just remove the part without wanting/having to put a new part in Spindle 1? I'm not sure if the patterns will work like that either...

I have no idea... but I have thought about doing the exact same thing as you... just haven't gotten there yet.

Are you sure about M21? M20 is just a call for robot service, M21 isn't used according to my manuals. The moves from MS to SS etc are all covered in the "patterns".

The problem with the CHK2S pattern is that it wants to pick up raw stock off the pallet, and then load said raw stock into the MS. Besides the wasted motion I don't want to just pretend and have the robot grab air because it still wants to load the MS which means I need to open the chuck, which I don't want to do because I have a bar in there and I don't want it to move.