What's new
What's new

QT15 Tooling Basics

JohnXKennedy

Plastic
Hey guys,

I am a total beginner when it comes to CNC lathes, plenty of time on various VMCs, large CNC routers, plasma cutters etc but none with lathes (or mazatrol for that matter!)

Please, have mercy on me when I ask some extremely basic questions about my '89 QT15 which I'm just now setting up.

I have absolutely no tooling and need to pick some up to get to work. As to which inserts etc I can do some reading, but I'm a bit confused about holders.

-I have seen mentions of the turret accepting 3/4 x 3/4, also some say 1 x 1 for stick tooling shank size. Which is correct? Does the shank size matter or can I use any that will fit? I would think this would throw off the tool to centerline alignment if the wrong holder is used...

-Do you use different styles of tool holders to run the tool backwards vs forwards? (upside down vs rightside up?) I have read the direction you turn is somewhat preference with chip evacuation and forces on the turret being the main pros/cons, is there anything I should know about this machine and directionality in particular?

-I have some cylindrical holders they measure out to ~1.5". Do you sleeve this to accept a smaller boring bar, or do I need a different holder to bolt to the turret?

-Is this style of straight shank ER32 holder the right thing to use with the 1.5" holders on my turret?

I realize these are very basic questions and I have done some searching through the mazak forum but these questions seem to be too simple to have been asked before. I actually have most of the manuals for the machine as well, but again mazak seems to assume you have a basic understanding of turning center tooling and does not describe these things...